Skip to content
August 30, 2009 / lazybug

A Gujju IPL team

So me and my cousin got discussing about the next year’s IPL. It kicks-off in Hdyerabad(!). We eventually got talking about the new venues. One is Vizag. Which is the other? Ahemdabad? Not sure. I expressed surprise that there is no team from Gujarat playing in the IPL.  Whcih in turn led to the question of the day: If there was to be one, what would it be called?

Ideas flowed

Dhokla eleven
Thepla eleven
Undhiyo eleven
The Eleven Dandiyas

We stopped there and finished the dinner. But the thought intrigued me, so I added the following to the list:

Kem chho? eleven
Khakra eleven
Ambabad Senwiches
The Surat farsaan walas

I guess I’ll stop at that, lest all the Gujjus arnd me start chasing me around with steeks and rotten dhoklas.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Chittaranjan / Aug 31 2009 7:31 pm

    Well, all the teams are named after the cities (Delhi’s a City/State but we’ll let it pass) so it’d be Surat Stallions (Sialkot don’t own the trademark, do they?) or Vadodara Victors or something like that!

    And how can u not use the correct spelling 👿 Its ‘Amdavad’

    P.S: Isn’t Dharamsala the other venue?

  2. Rashid / Sep 2 2009 5:09 pm

    Dear Akhil
    Welcome back.
    Good to see new post.

Leave a Reply

