Skip to content
March 25, 2009 / lazybug

It’s here!

Finally, after a long wait of god knows how many days, I got my first big camera today. It’s the Panasonic Lumix DMC G1 (full review). What? did I hear someone say Nikon D90? Well, yeah, I was supposed to buy that one. But the damn thing is such a big hit, its prices do not seem to coming down anytime soon. Betrayer you say? Nevermind, I can live with it.

But in reality, I have remained loyal to my first camera brand, Lumix.

For the ignorants among you, the G1 is the world’s first Micro four-thirds camera. That is, it’s a Digital SLR without the mirror and the prism. Which in turn means that the viewfinder is completely electronic, but you canuse various lenses on it just like an SLR. Therefore, it is also known as the EVIL camera i.e. Electronic Viewfinder Interchangable Lens camera.

I can put use any regular DSLR lens via an adapter, which, unfortunately, costs more than a hundred pounds as of now. Till I get it, I’ll have to stick to the two lenses I got. Poor me.

One of the first pics uploaded on flickr taken with the G1

One of the first pics uploaded on flickr taken with the G1

The truth, however, is that I am loving every moment of it. The camera has so much to offer. Lots to learn and implement. Hope I can do justice to the camera.

P.S. I got two lenses in the deal that I found through a very useful search engine called Twenga. It works only in Europe. The two lenses, 14-45MM f/3.5-5.6 and 45-200MM f/4-5.6 are excellent.

I have to thank my brother Yogesh who lives in the UK currently for buying the camera for me.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Chittaranjan / Mar 25 2009 8:58 pm

    Congratulations! Now we can see the true pappu photugrafr in you “come out of the closet”! :mrgreen:

    And I hope you’ll do justice to the cam by clicking non-still objects and explore more and more landscapes, panoramas, night-time shots, moving objects, action shots, long-shots and the likes. Puhleez, enuff of the boring bokehs and moronic macros!

    EVIL 👿

  2. Liju Philip / Mar 26 2009 12:33 am

    congrats buddy. party dere hamku? and ya, as YC said above, more pics of hyd please.

  3. Bhamoti / Mar 26 2009 6:22 am

    Ye ye ye!!! Party hona!!! 😀 …. So how much have you clicked as of now!!!

  4. Santhosh / Mar 26 2009 11:15 am

    Enjoy maadi. Take care of the camera.

  5. Prity / Mar 26 2009 11:50 am

    Want party…I and Bhamoti have suffered equally to see u pining for D90 million times a day!!

  6. Rashid Faridi / Mar 26 2009 3:23 pm

    Congrats Akhil.

  7. Prasanthi / Apr 2 2009 5:07 am

    Congrats Akhil! Partyyyyyyyyyyyyyy…

Leave a Reply

