Skip to content
November 7, 2008 / lazybug

Am on Ibex, Yay!

The Ibex is here

The Ibex is here

I upgraded to the latest release from Ubuntu, 8.10 or Intrepid Ibex, with ease yesterday night. It took less than two hours. I was initially confused, and to an extent frustrated, since neither my Terminal nor Update Manager were to able to upgrade. The problem was solved by a kind soul on the Ubuntu Forums, who provided a link to this page which explained just why the Term and Update manager behaved the way they did. Ubuntu 8.4, Hardy Heron, was a Long Term Support (LTS) distribution. When I installed it the Release Upgrade source was in the Software Sources menu had been set to LTS releases only. Ibex not being an LTS, the upgrade alert did not appear. All I had to do was to set it to Normal Releases, and there it was.

Upgrading via the Update Manager is a recommened form of upgrading by the Ubuntu developers. I was surprised to know this since I believed that Terminal was the best way. I followed the advice. I installed all the available updates before proceeding to install the distro upgrade. Did it work or what! Unlike my previous attempt at upgrading, which failed miserably (thankfully I had my good friend Arul John helping me out back then), this one provided no hassles. It took about one hour for the 785 MB of download to happen (thanks to my BSNL Broadband).The only error I get is when I mount a drive:

Unable to mount location — Internal error: No mount object for mounted volume

The volume mounts anyway, so no serious issues there. Further, this upgrade also fixed a forced fsck check on my C: that used to happen everytime I booted in Hardy. What a relief!

First thoughts on the Ibex

The Ibex actually seems a bit faster and less heavy on resources than Hardy. Am I the only one saying this?

The look and feel is great. It has Compiz to provide the eye candy and it looks much improved. The new DarkRoom theme is cool.

I notice that it’s now possible to move icons on the top panel by just dragging them, instead of having to right click and selecting ‘Move’ first.

The Orca Screen Reader and Magnifier: very nice!

I would have appreciated auto mounting of the drives I mounted in the previous session. This feature disappeared after Gutsy came along. Dunno why!

Most of the applications work just fine, if not beter.

That’s all I can say right now given my limited (really limited) knowledge about the technical side.

Keep up the great work, Ubuntu community!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. aalasanthosh / Nov 8 2008 5:31 am

    Good for me as I have already ordered a CD from Ubuntu. Will have to upgrade my system soon.

  2. Manpreet / Nov 8 2008 9:19 am

    I am Ubuntu and Ibex challenged.

  3. Liju Philip / Nov 9 2008 12:48 am

    instead of an upgrade, should have tried out a fresh installation. am yet to try it out though.

  4. lazybug / Nov 9 2008 5:10 pm

    @Santhosh: When will that happen?

    @ Manpreet: Open the Windows and lookout, there are a whole lot of other OSs out there. Did I tell you Ubuntu is a free OS? 😀

    @Liju: All my previous upgrades have been fresh installs. I was a bit skeptical about upgrading this time, but having made sure I followed the guidelines given by the Ubuntu team, I was quite confident. And it’s worked very well. My memory usage is down by 50%!

  5. Manpreet / Nov 11 2008 9:32 am

    OMG, is it really free? I am open to all things free. And I am definitely open to using other stuff than windows too. So here i go, to collect more info about Ubuntu. Thank you.

  6. almostinfamous / Nov 11 2008 4:36 pm

    looks interesting. not going to shift till they make a lightroom-alike for linux 🙂

Leave a Reply

