Skip to content
September 27, 2008 / lazybug

35 and Lost

A guy on Reddit posted the following topic:

35, lost interest in programming, system administration sucks, don’t want to go in management. What to do?

Obviously, IT jobs tend to get boring and monotonous. And the older you get, the worse it is. But this got me thinking as to where I’ll be when I get there. Still far away, but inevitable. Anyway, here are some of the interesting solutions posted by the readers:

…he should start a business, grow out a beard, stop showering, become socially inept, and start driving an energy efficient car – for a stress-free life, my friend. Oh wait, he said he was a programmer.. just start a business.

F*ck, retiring at 35 would be awesome. I’d be down with that.

Forget retiring. Just being 35 would be awesome. Although I’d prefer 25..

You also might need to get laid.

A small sheep farm on Mallorca. Well, that’s one way to get laid.

Obviously, it is time for you to become a ninja

Save up a little money and laze around for six months in a south east Asian country.

Marry a rich wife and run for president?

Of course, there are a lot of seriously good suggestions like this one, but who cares? I am not yet 35, no where near.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Liju Philip / Sep 28 2008 1:09 am

    I lost interest in IT at 30 itself. Today i do it just because it gives me money at the end of the month. Its a good career for kids, but the constant need for studying just to be where you were yesterday is killing.

    Today there is no diff between an IT worker and a manual labour fellow toiling away in the hot sun. Both are paid the same 😉

  2. Santhosh / Sep 28 2008 4:16 pm

    Akhil you could look at writing and photography.

  3. Chittaranjan / Sep 28 2008 4:38 pm

    Still 10 years left for me to feel lost :mrgreen:

    I’ll probably settle into becoming a ProBlogger (unpaid, of course!) 😎

  4. chirax / Sep 29 2008 4:39 am

    Akhil, This is guys is having a midlife crisis!!! Which I had at 23 🙂

  5. rksadhu / Sep 29 2008 11:04 am

    I have a feeling that this is not just limited to those associated with the IT industry. There are thousands who complain about life becoming mechanical, boring and shout aloud with ‘WTF’ expressions and statements about life etc.

  6. almostinfamous / Sep 30 2008 9:00 am

    i lost interest in engineering while doing it!!!

  7. Apoorv / Sep 30 2008 2:52 pm

    I have seen friends trying many things after getting bored with their jobs .one of friends is heading towards rural management as serious option . somehow , i am at peace with my work , after 5 years . spending time on ur hobbies in free time and keeping mind that work of 10 hours a day give me my bread works well with me .

  8. Prasanthi / Oct 3 2008 6:08 am

    I would prefer the age of 2 to 3 years. Just doing nothing except eating, drinking, sleeping and playing 😉

Leave a Reply

