Skip to content
June 24, 2008 / lazybug

Challaned!

“You’ve received a love letter from the traffic police”, said my mom just after I had finished my dinner. What could it possibly be, I wondered. Turned out to be a Challan for jumping a signal (as many as six months back). I was pleasantly surprised. First to note that this system of mailing challans was actually being implemented and next for me being challaned at all. You see, I am quite strict when it comes to following traffic rules, especially at the signals. So much so that I have managed to convert a few lazy bummers to appreciate the emotions of the much abused traffic lights of Hyderabad. The investigations that followed revealed that it could have been my dad who jumped the signal.

There was another surprise in store. The letter said that I could pay the amount online. So, I logged on to the eseva website. The website has all the qualities of being a government (read sloppy) website. Bad english (“Enter answer minimum four charecters” for answer to security question), unnecessary fields in forms (though Pre-filled, what’s the state name doing in the registration form?), no authentication of the data entered and so on. Anyway, I somehow managed to pay the amount thus sparing myself the effort of going to the Commissioner’s office.

In the end though, I was just glad that I had used a government serivice that works!

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Chittaranjan / Jun 24 2008 5:35 pm

    Hehhhe….U were lucky that u were just Challaned! One of my Colleague was ‘videotaped’ and then threatened that it will go atop the ‘known traffic offenders’ list/library/database 😛

    And itz the first time I’m hearing eSeva accepts Credit Cards 😮

    And ‘much abused traffic lights’?? Who abuses them, Dogs?

    P.S: “pleasantly”

  2. lazybug / Jun 24 2008 6:33 pm

    Ycee: Have you ever tried to look at the traffic from a Signal’s PoV? Imagine how it feels when people completely ignore it. If that’s not abuse, then what is?

    eseva accepts both credit cards and direct debits.

  3. Chittaranjan / Jun 24 2008 7:33 pm

    I don’t think ppl. in Hyderabad jump traffic signals….at max, they vroom ahead when the countdown reaches 5-4 thereabouts. And in any case, the opposite side traffic will be so much that jumping signals would entail listening to some very delectable Hyderabadi expletives 😛

  4. Aravind / Jun 25 2008 1:50 am

    @Chittaranjan: If you don’t think that people jump signals in Hyderabad? Pay attention the next time how many people actually do that.

    @Akhil: How would the numerous address changes and ignoring of these challans be tracked?

  5. Liju Philip / Jun 25 2008 3:47 am

    Btw, how much was the fine? Finally Hyd is going the Singapore way. Here too the cameras record the pic of the violator and a bill is sent to their homes.

    Not paying within the stipulated time means court summons. If ignored, arrest warrant is issued. I love the system.

  6. vinay / Jun 25 2008 6:10 am

    It is opposite in my case. I jumped signal and my papa got the mail. Anyway, it is better if the challan is sent within the next 10 days so that we would at least remember why we are paying.

  7. Manpreet / Jun 25 2008 9:13 am

    Well it came as a surprise to me too, that it is happening in India. Sloppiness will give way to smartness in due course I am sure. And as for Vinay’s papa receiving the challan, it is perhaps Madam Renuka Choudhary’s idea coming to play. 🙂

  8. Ramakrishna / Jun 25 2008 10:32 am

    Unfortunately, I too join the party of rule breakers. It was November’07. I was made to understand from that letter that I was fined for landing on the zebra crossing. Of course, I don’t even remember what happened that day as I follow traffic rules and often curse people who don’t.

  9. lazybug / Jun 25 2008 5:33 pm

    @Ycee: Hydis don’t jump singnals! I thought you’d know better. :p

    @Aravind: I have no idea. Their data seems to be synchronised with the RTA’s.

    @Liju: The fine was for Rs 100 + Rs 35 as service charges. And yes, me too likes the system.

    @Vinay: Same pinch. You’re expecting too much. 10 days? no way!

    @Manpreet: Me hopes so too.

    @Ramakrishna: Same pinch.

  10. Chittaranjan / Jun 25 2008 9:42 pm

    Waitaminnit? What construes ‘jumping a signal’? Barging through an intersection when the light is red, nai?

    If vrooming ahead when the countdown-to-green is still 5-6 secs away is ‘jumping signal’ then it happens daily and everywhere….

    I was thinking ‘jumping the signal’ != ‘running a red light’ 😀

  11. IdliDosa / Jun 26 2008 10:02 am

    nicee! i remember my dad getting one too. high time our traffic cops implemented something like this…and that too seriously..sorry bug..nothing personal 😀

  12. lazybug / Jun 26 2008 6:31 pm

    @Ycee: You now stand corrected. 😀

    @Idlidosa: I am actually happy I don’t have to bribe the traffic police. :d

Leave a Reply

