Skip to content
May 10, 2008 / lazybug

Surprise Surprise!

Ubuntu Hardy Heron has a feature that allows you to listen to a song by just scrolling the mouse over the icon.

The first time I noticed this (a bit of the song playing when I held the mouse on the icon for a while), I thought it was caused by some weird abnormality in Hardy. The second time, I blamed the songs given to me by this kind lady, thinking that the songs donated by her were doing voodoo on the other songs in my PC. It was only today that I realised I was wrong on both counts. It was a ‘tubelight’ moment.

Anyway, back to the point. The feature is really cool. You can ‘preview’ a song before listening to it. You only have to make sure that the media player is turned on. I wonder if there are any more such hidden features in Hardy.

That said, the one thing that is bugging me right now is the sudden ‘maun vrath’ the computer goes into when I do not play songs for a while. I have to restart the PC for it start singing again.

Update: Lyrics for the moment

It doesn’t have to be like this
All we need to do is make sure we keep talking Keep Talking, Pink Floyd

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Chittaranjan / May 10 2008 7:01 pm

    Ai! That reminds me of that Bengali songs I’d asked u abt! Fork’em up…..

    FF has an extension that does something similar…. 😐

  2. lazybug / May 10 2008 7:09 pm

    I’ll get you that song at the earliest!

  3. Santhosh Reddy / May 11 2008 8:27 am

    That is a good feature. What happened to the songs I wanted you to collect for me?

  4. lazybug / May 11 2008 6:36 pm

    It’s on its way!

Leave a Reply

