Skip to content
May 4, 2008 / lazybug

Heron Comes Calling

Within two weeks of installing Gutsy Gibbon, I have upgraded to Hardy Heron. Rather, I screwed up Gutsy and ended up downloading Hardy (following advice from Santhosh). Installing Hardy was a breeze. Took less than 30 minutes. And the difference is already visible.

Though very similar to Gutsy, Hardy makes the lives of lay users like me a bit more easy. Downloading of restricted formats, installing Adobe flash and other such tasks are now GUI-based and, what’s more, the concerned application (firefox or rhythm box) does the download and installation for you. (Though this feature existed in Gutsy as well, it did not seem to work for me.)I was able to play mp3 files within 5 minutes of installation. I am not able o install the regular extensions on firefox. It says they are already installed, but I can’t spot them.

Downloading a new distro seems to be a much safer option than ordering a free CD / upgrading. I had upgraded to Fiesty from Edgy and faced all sorts of problems. Then I did a download of Fiesty and life was cool ever since. All that, of course, was thanks to Arul.

For all the lay readers, I am talking about the Operating System I use at my home, Ubuntu Linux. The reasons being my love for the open source philosophy and my general dislike for Microsoft. It’s getting better with every release and I’d suggest you to try it out. Details are available at the Ubuntu website.

Lyrics for the moment

If I were you, I’d manage to avoid the invitation
Of promised love that can’t keep up with your adoration
Just use your head, and in the end you’ll find your inspiration
To choose your steps and won’t regret this kind of aggravation – Better, GnR

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Santhosh Reddy / May 4 2008 10:44 am

    I can tell you that you are getting better with every new release of Ubuntu.

    Enjoy!

  2. lazybug / May 4 2008 3:43 pm

    Heh…thank you Santhosh!

  3. Chittaranjan / May 4 2008 4:56 pm

    err…better at what? Installing? 😐

    And one has to install the apps n flash all over again with every distro? That sounds odd!

    Now if you’ll excuse me, I gotta go and install Vista SP1 😎

  4. Chittaranjan / May 4 2008 4:56 pm

    Replace B) with 😎

    *damn forum-fication!

  5. lazybug / May 4 2008 5:39 pm

    Ycee: It’s faster than gutsy, but is lighter on resources. You may now go and ogle at your good-for-nothing Vista.

  6. Liju Philip / May 5 2008 12:45 am

    I installed Fedora 8 client version at work. It was a breeze. 15 mins and it was up. Just that it had some updates that took over an hour to download and install. I now want to install it at home and probably shift to linux full time.

    Also need to start using ubuntu. I once tried installing ubuntu into my thumb drive and booted the system with it. Quite good. But its graphic intensive and is not suggested unless the system has some good memory.

Leave a Reply

