Skip to content
March 24, 2008 / lazybug

From Yummy! to Yuck!

I don’t watch movies too often in the cinema hall. As a result, when I do watch one, the memory (good, bad and / or ugly) tends to linger on for a long time. On Saturday night, when I was coming back from watching Taare Zameen Par, I was very excited. I would spend the next few days thinking the movie over again and again and not get bored. I also thought of the scenes I would want to blog about. The stellar performance by Darsheel Safary. Superb direction by Aamir Khan. All the childhood memories that were refreshed. The last shot where Ishant runs into Nikumbh’s arms. The list could be really long. I was glad I had watched a great movie after a very long time.

The joy was short lived.

Things changed all of a sudden. Ishant’s innocence was replaced by Katrina’s wooden face. Aamir Khan’s intense, heart stirring portrayal was replaced by Akshaye Khanna’s endless, painful hamming.

That’s right. I was conned into watching Race by my cousins the very next day. I felt like a kid whose birthday gift had been snatched away just after he removed the gift packing. The wonderful, vivid memories of TZP have been blurred by the horrors of Race.

P.S. Of course, there’s a way out: Watch TZP again. But that’s unlikely to be taken.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Santhosh / Mar 24 2008 5:10 pm

    No problem, I was planning to watch the movie. Let us see TZP together then.

  2. Chittaranjan / Mar 25 2008 5:18 am

    Lagta tumhaare Taare, Race dekhne ke baad, Zameen par aa gaya 😛

  3. Liju Philip / Mar 25 2008 6:42 am

    Saare Zameen Par 😉

  4. rksadhu / Mar 25 2008 9:18 am

    sahi bole yc bhai; congratulations akki for watching yet another bombarding movie after DHOOM2 which you loved a loooot 😉

  5. lazybug / Mar 25 2008 4:33 pm

    Santhosh: I’ll think about that.

    Ycee and Liju: Sahi bole.

    rksadhu: Remember that it was you who forced me to watch Dhoom2 against my wish.

  6. vinay / Mar 26 2008 3:39 pm

    Great Combo Akhil! It’s proved once again that good times never really last long.

Leave a Reply

