Skip to content
March 19, 2008 / lazybug

Hello, I am Bookmark

Hello,

I am Bookmark. A companion in your reading pursuits. A long rectangular piece of paper, I keep a track of which page you need to start from the next time you pick that book you just can’t put down. I save you the effort of having to remember the exact page number where you stopped last evening.

I am proud of the service I provide to you. I am writing for expressing my deep gratitude to you for choosing me to be your partner in reading the book. Of the several lookalikes you chose me. How glad I am for that kind gesture of yours.

bookmarkToday was the first time you opened the book. After the first few pages I could make it out that you were glad to buy this book. Money well spent. Nothing could make me more happier. For when you like the book, it means that I can serve you for the full length of time you spend on it. I also understand that the author has done a great job. His story is mesmerising, the characters vivid, and the language a lesson in expression of thoughts. I know this because I can see, lying in the corner of your reading desk, your face convey the joy that the book gives you. I am amazed at how you humans can communicate through the written word so vividly.

I wish I could read too, but then that’s where my limitations begin. I am, after all, just a piece of paper. Perhaps companion is too strong a word. As it happens, I’ll be of little use to you once the book is done with. I and the book I keep track of will then be confined to a corner of your book shelf for god knows how long. Some day, I hope, a kind friend of yours would borrow the book and I’ll piggy back a ride to another of those reading desks and watch the same emotions flash across the reader’s face all over again.

Once again, thank you for choosing me.

I remain your’s truly,

Bookmark

Image courtesy: IMC2003

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Aravind / Mar 20 2008 4:39 am

    Great work of fiction dude. Keep it going.

  2. Bhamoti / Mar 20 2008 5:29 am

    Quite moving. Liked it. 🙂

  3. vinay / Mar 20 2008 3:55 pm

    Good post. Innovative. One more from your stable

  4. lazybug / Mar 20 2008 4:36 pm

    Thank you Aravind, Bhamoti and Vinay for your kind comments. 🙂

  5. sridevi / Mar 20 2008 6:11 pm

    Creative narration and a touching post!! Looking for more such posts from you!!

  6. Chittaranjan / Mar 20 2008 8:01 pm

    Nice.

    But I always felt Bookmarks useless…..they tend to fall off sometimes, leaving it long enough may make the book prone to getting opened at the same page, they get folded and bend’ed when books are replaced in the shelf etc etc.

    Folding the page corner where you’ve stopped reading is the best way to ‘bookmark’, IMHO. 😀

  7. Liju Philip / Mar 21 2008 12:39 am

    Quite a refreshing read. Bookmarks are very important for someone like me who takes long time to finish a book.

  8. Aravind / Mar 21 2008 6:01 am

    ycee, dog-earing a book is considered disrespect towards it.

  9. Chittaranjan / Mar 21 2008 8:01 am

    @Aravind: Not if you un-fold it when you resume reading!

    And why is this fad of calling me ‘ycee’ catching on 👿 Akki ko pakadke peetna!

  10. Prasanthi / Mar 21 2008 8:09 am

    Good post Akhil!

  11. Prasanthi / Mar 21 2008 8:52 am

    And Thanks to you Bookmark.

  12. lazybug / Mar 21 2008 5:35 pm

    Ycee: Bookmarks are good. Don’t be evil to those books. Use bookmarks. About ‘Ycee’, well, it’s much easier than typing chinttanran…whatever.

    Liju: They do a good man. They really do.

    Sridevi: Thank you!!!!

    Prasanthi: Thank you!

  13. Chittaranjan / Mar 21 2008 6:10 pm

    @Akee: I’m not saying bookmarks aren’t good! Just that there are more ‘better’ ways to rmr the last-read-page. Disrespect-wisrespect notwithstanding.

    Moroever, where will you get one nowadays…you’ll either use some other paper or a card for that purpose. Mebbe a taal-patra 😛

  14. lazybug / Mar 21 2008 6:47 pm

    Ycee: It could be any piece of paper. If you buy books at Crosswords you can ask for free bookmarks.

Leave a Reply

