Skip to content
February 14, 2008 / lazybug

Mystery of the Missing Tags

I have noticed this before, but did not have the patience to blog about it. During WordPress tag searches (wordpress.com/<tag>), I have noticed that the tags mentioned below the posts are actually the ‘Categories’ under which I had filed my post. So, tags got replaced by categories. I don’t know whether this happens to other WordPress bloggers or not and, to be frank, only noticed this when I was searching for posts having tags similar to what I had used. Anyway, here’s what I saw when I searched for tag Excerpts following my previous post:

wordpress tag

The so called tags over there are actually the categories and the actual tags are missing.

Four hours later:

wordpress tag 2

This time, some of the tags (which are actually categories. Sigh!) have gone missing. I Wonder what happened to them. Has any one else faced similar problems at WordPress?

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Chittaranjan / Feb 14 2008 6:54 pm

    Mebbe this can clear up your dilemma.

  2. lazybug / Feb 15 2008 8:49 am

    There’s no dilemma here…it’s an error with wordpress.

  3. kpowerinfinity / Feb 17 2008 3:51 am

    I think some of the older stuff got mixed up when they moved categories to tags. Check the WP blog post here

  4. lazybug / Feb 17 2008 9:35 am

    Yeah, looks like that, Krishna. Thank you for the link!

  5. arvind / Feb 20 2008 3:33 pm

    ooh.. mysterious … :O

  6. Sherylqk / Mar 24 2008 7:56 am

    nice work, dude

  7. / Oct 28 2008 4:18 pm

    [] . ![]

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Stats With Bar Graphs! « Akhil Tandulwadikar’s Blog

Leave a Reply

