Skip to content
January 11, 2008 / lazybug

My Music

The last one year has been quite a ride when it comes to music. So much has happened, that I fail to remember how my life used to be when I used to listen only to filmy songs on TV and, of course, Backstreet Boys and Britney Spears. TV had brought a huge change to my musical universe. The next big change took some time to happen. The computer. It continues to be the nucleus of all the music I listen to. Radio and MP3 players are yet to make as big an impact on me. The radio channels in Hyderabad are pathetic, to say the least. Howling Telugu movie songs one after another, they present no variety what so ever.

Music
Image Source: libraries.mit.edu

At the beginning of 2007 I was immersed in Rock Music and Heavy Metal. I was introduced to this genre was through my friends at an online discussion board. We met a few times and I got to borrow some music from him. The Doors, Pink Floyd, Opeth, U2, Garbage, Scorpions, Stratovarius, Iron Maiden, Aerosmith, Pearl Jam, My Dying Bride, Slayer, Led Zeppelin, Miranda Sex Garden…and the list goes on. Never in my life did I listen to such a variety of music in such a short time. The sole Indian band that made an impact, and a big one at that, was Indian Ocean. There fusion music is world-class.

Of all the music I listened to, I guess Bob Dylan had the biggest influence on me ( Eric Clapton would be next). The sheer variety of his thoughts is staggering. “People are crazy and times are strange,
I am locked in tight I am out of range. I used to care, but things have changed.” Awesome.

It remained this way and, as a matter of fact, life had become a little monotonous. Then, came Indian classical music. My dad is an avid listener of Indian classical music. Every evening he would surf to the DD Bharti channel which would be airing a recital from 1980s by Kumar Gandharva. The intensity of his voice would have my mind riveted to the TV.

Towards the end of the year, the influence of Indian Classical music grew. The 35th Annual Pandit Motiram Pandit Maniram Sangeet Mahotsav took place at the Nizam College [post on that here]. The likes of Pandit Vijay Ghate, Ustad Shahid PArvez, Pandit Ajay Pohankar and Pandit Sanjeev Abhyankar provided enthralling performances one after another. People stayed back on bitter cold nights to listen to them. I am glad I was there too.

2008 has begun on a rather different note. I am hooked to some Hindi movie music. Johnny Gaddar, No Smoking, The Call, Bhool Bhulaiyya and a few other movie tracks have dominated.

Today, I could sit down and listen to any of these artists and not feel bad. My musical universe has grown and I hope it continues to grow. There’s so much more to listen to. Life’s just too short.

22 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Chittaranjan / Jan 11 2008 6:00 pm

    Not all the FM channels are pathetic…City and Big FM are better than the rest and for sheer variety, Rainbow FM is the one…with English, Rock, Retro, Blues and Classicals all making their appearance…

    Ahemm….. “It” and “Least” instead of “Tt” and “List” :mrgreen:

  2. Aravind / Jan 12 2008 1:20 am

    Akhil, Radio City does have good Hindi music in the mornings and evenings.

    You are pretty much listening to main stream music. But there is another genre called Alternative music sometimes also called Indie (as in Independent of major labels), once you get into that kind of music then there is no turning back.

    Talvin Singh is good for fusion of Indian and western styles, Nitin Sawhney is another.

    Indian classical music rocks. I do have CDs of Zakir Hussain for now, and Luka Chuppi only due to its classical music influence still sounds great once everyday. Also try Shubha Mudgal.

  3. lazybug / Jan 12 2008 4:58 am

    Ycee: Rainbow FM sounds good.

    Aravind: Yeah: ALternative music is the one genre I’ve missed. Hope to get into it soon.

  4. vinay / Jan 12 2008 6:31 am

    good that you have got so much of variety in your life.

    The sentence ” Hyderabad are pathetic, to say the list. Howling Telugu movie songs one after another, they present no variety what so ever.” doesn’t seem to be right. They air beautiful songs in the night and early morning of course they are in Telugu which you don’t speak. You should have put that in a different way.

    And it is important to note that you stay in Andhra Pradesh where Telugu is the mother tounge. These days you get better Telugu numbers than Hindi which I believe you don’t listen to and it is not just to criticise the channels which have been started to cater to the local audience.

    It is indeed good that you get other channels which provide other kinds of music and shows across all languages in Hyd and other parts of Andhra which is not the case in other parts of India.

  5. lazybug / Jan 12 2008 7:16 am

    Vinay: I was referring to the general scenario of Radio Channels in the city. Airing only Telugu songs is a big put off. And they are loud (the Radio channels that is). I have nothing against the Telugu channels or Telugu music per se.

    I have my set of favourite Telugu songs, mostly by Ilayaraja, which I listen to.

    I am in general averse to contemporary film music. Telugu or Hindi, makes no difference. As for Telugu film music being better than Hindi film music, I don’t know. I never compared.

    “It is indeed good that you get other channels which provide other kinds of music and shows across all languages in Hyd and other parts of Andhra which is not the case in other parts of India.”

    Which channels? Kindly enlighten.

  6. Chittaranjan / Jan 12 2008 7:36 am

    I agree with Aravind! Forget about the Movie music and the pop/remix albums and there are loads of other genres and stuff that one can explore.

    Long ago, I was hooked onto just instrumentals…Safri Duo & Trilok Gurtu were some I used to listen to. I’ve heard abt this Sawhney but haven’t heard any of his music…is he the same genre as Raghav Sachar or Raghav?

  7. lazybug / Jan 12 2008 7:43 am

    Ycee: Raghav boleto that guy who sang ‘angel eyes’? Usko dur rakho bhai. Raghar Sachar is different I guess. He ahd come up with an instrumental album some years back…that was quite nice actually.

  8. Chittaranjan / Jan 12 2008 7:49 am

    Hau…Raghav and Raghav Sachar are diff! the former is an NRI singer likes and the latter I-can-play-17-instruments musician.

    Sigh! I miss those instrumentals now…..

  9. Yashashwini Y P / Jan 12 2008 11:58 am

    You could install World Space. That’s where I discovered Alternative Rock. Even if it was 2 days ago.

    Around 1K for 6 months isn’t a bad idea. You get many channels dedicated to their own genres and no advertisements.

  10. lazybug / Jan 12 2008 3:39 pm

    Yashu: Can’t do that right now. But will certainly consider it later in the year.

  11. Chittaranjan / Jan 12 2008 6:13 pm

    Worldspace has variety yes, but its hampered by lack of mobility! Jahan rakho whan suno 😐

  12. santhosh / Jan 12 2008 6:19 pm

    Akhil, I believe there is a worldspace player in the office. You could try setting that up.

    And as far as the choice of music dished out by the radio channels in Hyderabad is concerned, no channel is trying to be different with the music it plays. Rather they are trying hard to sound different with their programming.

    I guess a radio channel that deals with alternative music could be soothing for people like you.

  13. lazybug / Jan 12 2008 7:24 pm

    Listen to alternative music at workplace? I don’t think that’s a good idea. Might end up getting kicked out of the workplace!

    Thank you for the suggestion though.

  14. Yashashwini Y P / Jan 13 2008 2:30 am

    You listen to music only at work place? and err, in your car?

  15. lazybug / Jan 13 2008 6:09 am

    Err. I hardly listen to any music at workplace…except for some played by my colleague, who’s Mac has a speaker to it. And playing ‘unusual’ music could be a huge distraction.

  16. Yashashwini Y P / Jan 13 2008 12:01 pm

    oh ok.

  17. luckykabutar / Jan 13 2008 2:57 pm

    the music has improved so much over the last vew years, just amazing quality sound and lyrics.

  18. Santhosh / Jan 13 2008 5:53 pm

    I do not think you will be kicked out unless you play it at high volume.

    BTW you can still listen to alternative music from your ipod or mp4 player.

  19. memsaab / Dec 7 2008 1:45 am

    All I can say is, I grew up with western music (I’m an American through and through) and I discovered Hindi film music about 5-6 years ago, and am hooked on it. Don’t take it for granted! I love Led Zeppelin, but I love Mohammed Rafi too. And many others 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Led Zeppelin News » Blog Archive » My Music
  2. My Music
  3. Actors, Movies, and Songs » My Music Akhil Tandulwadikar’s Blog

Leave a Reply

