Skip to content
January 9, 2008 / lazybug

Know Your Daemon

It has been a rather tiring day. And by the looks of it, tomorrow’s going to be no different. I am so tired, I don’t feel like going to bed. So I headed to the PC after dinner and..well…found that I had nothing to do. But hey, this is the Internet. You never know what interesting webpage you’ll come across.

As I was browsing through my RSS feeds on Netvibes, I happened to read Jai Arjun Singh‘s review of The Golden Compass. As usual, it was beautifully written. The most interesting bit though came at the end where he mentioned about his Daemon, which according to the author of Golden Compass, Philip Pullman, is the “Physical manifestation of the person’s soul”.

If you lived in the middle world, where this fantasy is set, your daemon would always accompany you. It usually takes the shape of an animal or an insect. A child’s daemon could take several shapes in the early years, but as he / she grows, it attains a definite form. If you don’t have a daemon, you’re probably mutilated and disfigured.

So, I hopped along to the movie’s official website, and answered 20 questions to get to know my daemon.

Valthera

As it says, I am “Modest, a leader, assertive, spontaneous and responsible”. How correct, I must say. You now know whom to approach if you have a problem.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Chittaranjan / Jan 11 2008 10:36 am

    Some Mouse came for me 😐

  2. lazybug / Jan 11 2008 11:26 am

    Cat and Mouse! What a combo. :mrgreen:

  3. Chittaranjan / Jan 11 2008 5:56 pm

    I took the test differently and came a ‘Crow’ 👿

    Yours looks like a Fox to me….

  4. sridevi / Jan 11 2008 6:10 pm

    lite lelo jee… I took the test twice.. daemon names were different…first a mouse and next a lion…but, the description was almost same… and almost similar to yours too… So, don’t go by the description….! :-))

  5. lazybug / Jan 12 2008 4:54 am

    Ycee: Crow is not bad at all.

    Sridevi: This is just for fun.

  6. sridevi / Jan 12 2008 5:59 am

    Hey! I know that it was just for fun… and I was just joking…! o.k.

  7. Chittaranjan / Jan 12 2008 7:36 am

    Any site that has a “Know your Demon” ?? 😀

  8. polaris / Feb 3 2008 7:33 am

    I got a tigress named Aurora. Don’t much agree with the choice of the tigress (I am too meek), but I have no problems with the name because I adore the northern lights.

  9. lazybug / Feb 5 2008 7:27 am

    Thank you for the comment, polaris. The ghosts surely have got nice names.

  10. kelly hughes / Apr 25 2009 7:18 pm

    i have a daemon its a pola bear where do you have the daemon quizz thing

  11. kelly hughes / Apr 25 2009 7:19 pm

    my pola bear is called fluffy i got him when i was 6

    • kelly hughes / Apr 25 2009 7:20 pm

      hello kelly

Leave a Reply

