Skip to content
September 3, 2007 / lazybug

The Haircut

It was around April or May this year that I decided to grow my hair long–something not many people (read males) in my family had done. That’s partly due to the deserted scalps they possess, at least the elders. And thats most probably what will happen to my scalp too. This was, in a way, my motivation to sport long hair. Who knows what will be left of them few years down the line?

So began the long journey of my (then) short hair. I worked hard to keep them healthy and clean. I even thought about getting them straightened but the barber quoted an abnormally high price of 500. A quick calculation of how many Biryanis can be bought for that amount made me decide against straightening. So they continued to grow, unabated and without much of a direction.

The reactions I got ranged between very good and yuck. Almost all of my relatives resorted to calling me a Jungli. But all the while I was quite sure why I was doing it and the complaints and praises did not really matter. It reminded me of my overweight days. At that time people were asking me to go slim and when I finally went slim (due to illness) they said I looked too slim, put on some weight, you looked better back then. bah!

While this was happening, though, my hair developed suicidal tendencies and started jumping out off my scalp at the slightest of provocations. I guess they could not sustain their weight. Yet, I persisted. I stopped paying zero attention to what people had to say–people will continue to say what they think.

But as they say, all good things come to end some day…and for my long hair y’day was that fateful day. I have now cut my hair really short, short enough for me not to use the comb at all.

The first reaction was from my uncle. He said “Welcome back to the human kind”. Sigh, what a sad feeling it is to be back.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ramakrishna / Sep 3 2007 11:16 am

    Wow, so we are going to see the purana akhil with a new look…

  2. Santhosh / Sep 3 2007 11:22 am

    Reeeey, akhi, tera camera leke aaja kal office ko. Teri mast photuve nikalne ka hain.

  3. lazybug / Sep 3 2007 11:48 am

    No. you are going to see the new akhil with the old hair cut.

  4. Chittaranjan / Sep 3 2007 2:09 pm

    Nawa Photu Lagao baap! And better keep the hand way from the hair 😀

  5. vinay / Sep 4 2007 4:16 pm

    I reserved my comments for today. I was the one who advised you to go for the haircut. During the last two months you used to look weak/disturbed/bored/ dejected.

    I thought a makeover would have some positive effect on you. You looked fresh and young today. Hope your health gets better too very soon.

  6. lazybug / Sep 4 2007 4:35 pm

    Thank you vinay. 🙂

  7. Madhu red / Jan 18 2008 10:27 am

    arey binganna come to my place i will take u kattar shop u will be bold…… 🙂 arey lazy ghaaaaaa

Trackbacks

  1. Get a Haircut, Andrew « Akhil Tandulwadikar’s Blog

Leave a Reply

