Skip to content
August 6, 2007 / lazybug

What We Have Become…

As promised, here’s the quote by Sri Aurobindo Ghose I said I will post in my previous post:

” If an ancient Indian of the time of the Upanishads, of the Buddha, or the later classic age were to set down in moderns India…he would see his race changing to forms and shells and rags of the past and missing nine-tenths of its nobler meaning…he would be amazed by the extent of the mental poverty, the immobility, the static repetition, the cessation of science, the long sterility of art, the comparative feebleness of the creative intuition.”

This was written many decades ago but, if anything, the condition has not got any better. I am yet to grasp the full meaning of what Sri Aurobindo said over there as I have not read any of his books. I hope I do read them.

Leave a Reply

