Skip to content
July 30, 2007 / lazybug

Super-hyper-(sree)Santh

That’s how he should rename himself, me thinks. And if you saw the way he bowled yesterday after India took a commanding lead over England at Trent Bridge, Nottingham, I am sure you’d agree too. India needed to get a good start and keep the initiative. But Super-hyper bowled a dreadful first over to give it all away. If I remember right, he tried at least 4 different delivery strides in his very first over (for a moment I thought this was a gully cricket match in progress). Such behaviour is usually reserved for his partner at the other end, Zaheer Khan, who was thankfully on target. Imagine both of them going the same way…shudder!

Back to Super-hyper. He is usually good to watch and provides a lot of entertainment through his on field gimmicks–who can forget that Kathakali-cum-breakdance he dished out at Johannesburg? Unlike most of other Indian bowlers of today and past, he is quite chatty too and does not mind giving the batsman a piece of advise every now and then–good to watch, surely. All this chat counts to nothing though when you are in the middle of a dreadful spell like yesterday’s, but that did not seem to matter to him! So what is the way out?

I remember reading a post on Indiauncut, Amit Verma’s Blog, which talks about Super-hyper outsourcing meditation to to his guru! The story was published on NDTV. Here’s an excerpt:

“It helps me to think positive and I can feel the difference. Even during the World Cup I was full of energy. I didn’t play a single game but I wasn’t down. I don’t have to do anything. I tell him how I’m feeling and he helps me perform consistently well at a higher level”

Surely, his guru seems to be working overtime here…too much energy can be harmful, sir! Please cool down!!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Santhosh / Jul 30 2007 4:20 pm

    Probably both Sree Santh and his guru might have been meditating, resulting in the hyper activity of Sree Santh.

Leave a Reply

